Langstone Harbour
10 Knots Speed Limit Harbour Byelaws Water Quality Follow us on Twitter
Langstone Harbour Home Links

The Advisory Committee

An important feature of the Board’s constitution is the requirement for an Advisory Committee. The 1962 Act established an Advisory Committee of 11 members representing 8 stakeholder organisations.

Subsequent Orders amended the provisions relating to the Advisory Committee. In 1985 provision was made for up to 5 additional bodies nominated by the Board with the agreement of the Advisory Committee. In 1999 membership of the Advisory Committee was extended to the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds and the Environment Agency.

The Advisory Committee meets the week before each Board meeting and considers the full agenda for the next Board meeting. The Board have a duty to consult the Advisory Committee on all matters substantially affecting the preservation, regulation, management and improvement of the harbour. The Board must also consider any matters referred to them on these topics by the Advisory Committee.

The current membership of the Advisory Committee is shown below.

 Simon Baldry
Representing: British Water Ski Federation
 Peter Bisset
Representing: Portsmouth & District Canoe Club
 Rupert Bremer
Representing: Southsea Marina
 Bob Comlay
Representing: Solent Protection Society
 Hilary Crane
Representing: Natural England
 Brian Davies
Representing: Portsmouth & Langstone Sailing Association (LSC)
 Stewart Ferrier
Representing: Marine Aggregates
 John Goodspeed
Representing: Friends of Langstone Harbour
 Phil Grant
Representing: Langstone & District Wildfowlers & Conservation Association
 Ian Jones
Representing: Southern Inshore Fisheries & Conservation Authority
 John Holloway
Representing: Langstone Harbour Fishermen’s Association
 Chris Musselwhite
Representing: Environment Agency
 Ruth Pelling
Representing: English Heritage
 Jim Hobson
Representing: Hampshire County Council Countryside Service
 Mark Pullen
Representing: Hayling Health Society
 Bob Russell OBE (Chairman)
Representing: Royal Yachting Association
 Chris Lycett
Representing: Hampshire Wildlife Trust
 Wez Smith
Representing: Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
 Paul Tansom (Vice Chairman)
Representing: Portsmouth & Langstone Sailing Association
 Melvyn Gofton
Representing: Portsmouth & Langstone Sailing Association (ECA)
Langstone Harbour Board, Ferry Road, Hayling Island, Hampshire, PO11 0DG Tel: (023) 9246 3419
Copyright 2017 Langstone Harbour Board | login Website Design by SAMTEQ